Christmas Has Finally Come?

I’ve managed to finally work myself up into a Christmas mood today.  It has taken some time to accomplish that this year.  The tree has been up since the Saturday after Thanksgiving and that didn’t do it (tainted, no doubt, by getting soaked at the hardware store for 85 bucks for some of the gangliest looking Christmas lights I have ever seen).  We had a contest at the office this year where we decorated the windows in our office.  That didn’t do it.  In fact, at first blush, I wasn’t going to participate at all (bah-humbug) but finally mustered up the strength to put together this half-hearted effort.

Ho-Ho-Hum Window

Nothing fancy and nothing with a lot of true spirit behind it.  Better than the protest vote I was going to offer up of nothing but still not as good as it could have been.  If I’d only been in the mood.  I could have added lights or baubbles that glittered when tinged by the fluorescent lights.  I could have done streamers or ribbons as well to help dress it up.  But the Christmas spirit just hasn’t been there.  Others though seem to not only be touched by the Christmas spirit, but could possibly be infected by it!

Ho-Ho-Holy Cow Is That Creative Window

We’ve certainly got the snow to put me in the Holiday mood but, as evidenced by previous posts you can see this has little chance of putting me in the mood.  The standard holiday movies?  Those haven’t worked yet either.  Although who can’t be amused by the site of Cousin Eddie in a leopard print speedo, Meister Brau in one hand, twirling his bathrobe in the other.  Or Ruby Sue’s explanation over Rocky “shittin’ bricks” over Santa Claus not coming again this year.

It’s certainly not been the shopping malaise of the last couple weeks.  Not knowing what to get whom (for crying out loud, what do you get for the finicky parents who need nothing!) or trying to contend with the crowds in the stores.   For they too are as equally unsure what to buy as evidenced by their occupation of the center-most portion of each shopping aisle I try to navigate staring desperately at some object and lost in deep thought.  “Should I get this for Lil Jimmy or should I not?”  I am certain you should get out of my way because I at least had the forethought to think my purchase through and know what I need as opposed to wandering aimless through the store cluttering up the aisles with my presence.

So what has put me in the mood today?  A mood I hope to be able to ride out the next several days leading up to Christmas 2010?  It could be the Christmas music filling the background behind me as I wrap those things we have purchased for the kids.  It could be the holiday baking I plan to get underway with shortly.  Some sweet things to turn the sour attitude I’ve held captive the last few weeks.  It could be knowing that I have the next ten days here at home with Sweetness and the kids with as few real-world distractions as possible helping to set the mood for Christmas.  It could be the time I’ve spent reflecting on my own past Christmas’ that has finally got me in the right state of mind.  Whatever it is it finally feels good.  Here’s hoping it has staying power!  Merry Christmas to All and to All a good write!

About scotthaz

I love the creative process of Architecture (and tolerate the administrative end of the process), golf as often as my family will allow, and enjoy nature photography.
This entry was posted in That's Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Has Finally Come?

  1. Jana says:

    It took a little while for me to get into the Christmas mood, too. Our tree was up the weekend after Thanksgiving, but it still felt too early. I think the Christmas music is what got to me. (And I’ve been dying to get my hands on Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, and finally made my husband pick it up Friday night so we could watch it.) Have you heard the Sufjan Stevens Christmas album? It’s fantastic. So is Jack Johnson’s album.

Leave a Reply

