Good Bye to You

As you pass through the threshold don’t dawdle along the way.  Don’t let the door hit you in the halfmoons on the way out.  Good bye to you.  Though you’ve done nothing wrong and don’t deserve this fate you didn’t exactly do anything right to warrant a longer stay.  I invited you in without any doubts or reservations.  Without ,expectations, as to what you might bring.  But despite those best intentions I admittedly hoped for more than you were willing, or able to deliver.  I have nobody to blame but myself for building you up and making you out to be more than you could ever aspire to be.  And no, sadly, it is you, not I, who will have to pay the price.

I was on the rebound you see and that’s never a good place for someone like you to be.  As it was I was coming off a bad relationship before meeting you which, automatically set me to believing that our time together could only be a step forward for me.  Thus, the unexpected expectations really couldn’t be avoided.  Again, not your fault.  Nonetheless, I will lay these problems on you and ask you to carry them out the door with you.

Despite our failures and misgivings I will not forget you.  Though there is little about you that stands out against the others.  A very plain and nondescript choice as I look back upon it now.  Oh, don’t worry.  I’ll remember the warm summer evenings together.  The savory hot cups of coffee shared together watching the sun rise.  But unfortunately I too remember the anxiety that grew between us with each passing day.  As those expectations, so faint and casual in the beginning, grew bigger amid bigger and formed themselves into real visions in my mind your ability to meet them grew dimmer and dimmer.

And as you let the prospect of those hopes of becoming reality fade from “yes”, to “maybe”, to  “let’s go slow”, to “it’s too early”, “don’t lose hope”, “I’m still here”, “there’s still time”, “don’t let me go”…  Look, you may find this short-sighted of me, some may even say arrogant, but I can’t take the blame for this.  I was here.  I did my part.  You let me down, not the other way around.  And I’m going to make you shoulder the blame as you go.  Good bye to you.

So, let it be known, I’m in the market for somebody new.  But be forewarned, I’m once again on the rebound and I’ve already established some expectations for you.  I’m looking for a relationship capable of offering more than the last one could provide.  Do you have it in you?

Hey 2011, what are you doin’ tonight?

About scotthaz

I love the creative process of Architecture (and tolerate the administrative end of the process), golf as often as my family will allow, and enjoy nature photography.
This entry was posted in That's Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

