Have You Got It?

It’s that time of year again.  At least it is for me.  And by the sounds of it, for a lot of you too.  Seasonal Affective Disorder.  SAD.  What a fitting little acronym.  Somebody spent some serious time thinking that one up.  But yes.  Nonetheless that time is now upon us.  We’ve all come off the happy high that is the holiday season.  The festive lights, gatherings with family and friends, presents to exchange, music to sing, meals to be consumed. 

A Not So Wonderful Time of the Year?

And then it’s done.  Over.  Kapoot!  A week to recover before one more quick hu-rah! for New Years and the next thing you know you are staring dead into the face a very long winter in front of you.  I can’t help but hear the lasting reverberations of Johnny Mathis’ version of “It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year” echoing through the back of my skull and wanting so badly to modify those lyrics just a little to fit the three months that face us.  January, February, and March.  Three of the foulest words in the English Language.  Right behind the word Rhubarb.  Honestly, have you tried it?  Nasty stuff in a pie crust, trust me.

So I did a little research (and I mean very little research, if I look too closely I have a tendency to convince myself I have every known disease that’s ever beset mankind) and I seem to fit the bill on a lot of these symptoms.  Anxiety, loss of energy, social withdrawal (I’ve always known this to be called “shy bladder syndrome” but I guess the kids call it something new these days…or maybe I’ve got this confused with something else…), and oversleeping tend to top my list.  The weight gain symptom is there but works in reverse for me.  I tend to lose weight during this time of year as my interest in food tends to wane and not wax.  This tends to drive Sweetness(the wife) crazy.

So, none of these symptoms lay so heavy upon my soul as to plunge me into utter despair and depression.  But I can sense a definite shift in my polarity as this time of year rolls around.  The driving force, I am certain, is the loss of daylight.  I am, by nature, up with the sun and down with the sun.  During the long summer days there is nothing better than to still be outside working in the yard or playing catch with Junior late into the evening.  But when you drive to work before the sun rises and drive home after it has set leaves me ready to crawl into bed and sleep off the onslaught of darkness.  And the cold and blowing snow tends to add fuel to the fire as well (how do you like that one?  Get the irony there? Snow, aka frozen water?  Water usually puts out a fire but here I cleverly turned that around and used it as a fuel instead?  I’ll explain it later Luci.)

So I’m taking suggestions.  I haven’t really laid out a litany of New Year’s Resolutions (my efforts usually expire on those before January ends anyway) for myself for 2011 but this is one I would like to take on.  I’m looking for a way to conquer Seasonal Affective Disorder and I’m open to suggestions.  I’ve ruled out joining the Polar Bear Club (don’t much like swimming in the summer let alone when the water is cold enough to freeze you into a mansicle).  I’ve also discounted seeing a psychologist as well (we’re in a recession here people!  Besides I’d like to put that money towards that new i-whatchamacallit doo-hickey) so don’t offer that one up for consideration either.  And Sweetness has ruled out letting me relocate to a destination South of the Mason-Dixon line until springtime.  At any rate, whatever I decide to try I can guarantee will be a resolution with a 100% chance of succeeding.  For, no matter what I chose to do, April will be here in 83 days, and counting.

About scotthaz

I love the creative process of Architecture (and tolerate the administrative end of the process), golf as often as my family will allow, and enjoy nature photography.
This entry was posted in That's Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

