Excuse me Sir, Do You have the TIME?

There was a time when, as a kid, growing up in the long, grueling, hot summer days, that I would get sooooo bored that I would sit and watch the minutes tick off the clock on the wall.  With none of my friends around to play and not a single good toy in the house worth my efforts, I would sit around and just watch the minutes tick by.  “I am so bored mom, can’t we go somewhere or do something fun?”  “Go clean your room” was usually the reply I got in return and there was no way that was happening to be sure.  So instead I would turn my attention to that clock on the wall.  At first it was the old harvest green plastic clock that would occupy my attention.  Do you have any idea how long it takes for that second hand to make that full 360 degree revolution?  FOREVER, that’s how long.  At eight years old it takes forever for that second hand to get all the way around.  And when it does, you can’t hardly see the minute hand move at all.  I swear, I just watched a minute of my life roll by and that minute hand on that clock didn’t even move!  Call the Press, I have officially stopped time!  I am so bored that I have officially stopped the progression of time!!!  But at that age, when you’re bored out of your mind, time does cease.

Now, at forty-something (who’s counting?) I’ve come across a disturbing new trend.  Over the course of the last several months I have noticed a certain change about the time that reads upon the face of my clock.  Lately, it seems, every time I look at the time on my cell phone or the clock in the corner of my computer screen (thanks Bill) I always seem to catch those minutes changing.  Nineteen just clicked over to twenty.  Thirty-one just became thirty-two, fifty-nine just became a whole new hour!  I swear I just caught twenty-four skip twenty-five all together and go straight to twenty-six.  And, basically, eight years old just became forty-two.  (Snap of fingers)  Like that!  Like that there is no longer enough hours in the day to complete everything that is demanded of me.  Like that the to-do list in my head just got longer instead of shorter because time peels away faster than I can complete what was still left undone from yesterday’s list.

As a solution I have considered making the switch to military time. 

Who couldn't use and extra 6 hours?

At least that way, counting up the hours to twenty-four would at least feel like there is more time in the day.  Or, I might switch to keeping time with this clock.  Oh man, give me six more hours every day and see what I can do.  In reality though, I think my best bet is to just go with the flow and do what I can with the time I’m given.  As a kid we watched the seconds tick by.  And now I’ve graduated to watching the minutes blow by.  What I don’t want to do is find myself sitting in a rocking chair with a blanket on my lap and drool running down my chin wondering what happened to the last hour; wishing to have back the time I have now.

About scotthaz

I love the creative process of Architecture (and tolerate the administrative end of the process), golf as often as my family will allow, and enjoy nature photography.
This entry was posted in That's Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

