Stop Biting Your Fingernails

For some people, that is a hard habit to break.  Just like kicking the dog at night when I get home from work.  It’s just a habit.  Walk through the door and there she is all happy to see me.  Jumpin’ around and excited.  It’s just not fair that she has all that excitement and energy to burn while I am all gassed and tired from a long day’s work.  So it just becomes habit to even out our dispositions by giving her a quick kick in the caboose.  She yelps away a little less happy and I walk into my evening feeling as though I finally came out on the winning end of a proposition today for once.

Now, before you go dialing IX-I-I there is no truth to that parable.  There is, however, truth to the premise that bad habits are hard to break.  Imbibing in the fire water, rollin’ tabacky, fifteen hours of Rush Limbaugh per week.  All bad habits that can be tough to break free.  However, the converse of that equation rings true as well.  And that is Good Habits are hard to keep.  I’m referring, specifically hereto, about my blogging frequency of late.  My goal, as is usually the case with good habits we are trying to develop, was to post a couple of times a week.  That’s all.  Sit down, give it a couple of hours twice a week, and put some thoughts down.  But here I sit on the cusp of two weeks without anything having been done.

Writing is no different from going to the gym to get back in shape or placing your kids old stuffed Barney by the back door to kick before crossing paths with the dog.  It takes repetition and willpower to consciously force yourself to do it.  After a while it becomes a part of your regular routine and you see results.  Suddenly though, I am without results.  There’s been a lot of “I’ll do it tomorrow’s” playing out in my mind’s conversation with myself.  Of course I always win that argument and it gets put off in favor of other things.  And with the spring and summer months coming it is only going to get harder to take the time to sit down and write when other, equally appealing things wait on the other side of the door.  Sometimes I set the bar of life too high for myself to achieve my goals (Sweetness would say it’s not sometimes but always set too high).  What’s a guy to do?

See, Nothing wrong with the Poochie

 

Hereby submitted as evidence in the Discovery phase of trial my proof that the dog is in good physical condition.

About scotthaz

I love the creative process of Architecture (and tolerate the administrative end of the process), golf as often as my family will allow, and enjoy nature photography.
This entry was posted in That's Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

