Politics as Usual?

Home of the Missing Democrats

By and large I am proud to be a Hoosier (let the record show I openly express my support for the Boilermakers of Purdue…Hoosier in the broader sense of connoting the general public of the state of Indiana). 

Now mind you, I have driven the I-465 loop around Indianapolis before and I will be the first to admit that it can be confusing.  Especially if approaching from the North.  The map is upside down.  What should be on your left is on your right.  Big buildings, lots of cars, confusion entails.  But for all forty Democrats to have lost their way into town, got turned around and headed out-of-town on I-74 and all to have turned up in Urbana is more than a coincidence.

The reality is they have found themselves on the short end of the political stick, like those similar Democrats in Wisconsin, and decided that if they can’t be in charge of making up the rules they are just going to take their ball and go home and pout.  Since when has this type of behavior become an acceptable method for adults to deal with the problems that confront them?  “I’m sorry Mr. Employer, I don’t feel like doing the work you want me to do so I am going to go sit over there and ignore you.  Oh, but I still want to get paid of course.”  Somehow I don’t see that working out well for me if I were to take that kind of stance.  Yet for some reason, because these Democrats find themselves in the minority on the issue at hand, they feel compelled to misrepresent their constituents by grinding the business of the state to a halt.  Makes perfect sense, if you are a 6-year-old.

I will advise you that I must tread carefully around this issue because Sweetness stands on the other side of the fence on the political issue at hand.  And I am certain she would beat me with a stick across that fence if she could.  But I think she sees the whole situation as a little bit ridiculous as well.  To handle the situation in this manner is the childish way out.  Grow up, debate the issue like an adult, and accept the outcome once a vote is taken.  If you don’t like the results, do a better job of winning more seats for people who share your position.  If it was that popular a position to begin with, you wouldn’t be having to act like a toddler to begin with!

About scotthaz

I love the creative process of Architecture (and tolerate the administrative end of the process), golf as often as my family will allow, and enjoy nature photography.
This entry was posted in Politics, That's Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

