The Bombs Bursting in Air

I’ve spoiled my kids.  Actually, I’ve spoiled my wife as well.  And, to be honest, I’ve let it seep into my own skin too.  But that’s ok.  It’s a good kind of spoiled but not an easy thing to shake.  It’s probably the best kind of addiction I could have hooked my kids on so I can’t scold myself for being a bad parent.  Love of country, pride in who we are.  Ok, the pyrotechnic aspect of this addiction isn’t necessarily the best thing one could look up to but at least I haven’t laid the missiles directly in their hands…yet.  Thus far we have kept our addiction at a health distance.  Though we have not failed to travel a healthy distance to get our fix!  I think we are all hooked on Fireworks.  I know, kinda weird right?

It started a couple of years ago when we went with another family into Chicago to enjoy the Taste of Chicago and to see the fireworks display along the lakefront.  God bless that Mayor Daley, he knows how to throw a party.  A great day of sweating, gorging, excessive walking, and screaming crowds all capped off by glorious fireworks.  It’s not everyday you get the chance to be a part of a walking traffic jam.  S-w-e-a-r  t-o  G-o-d!  It took us less time to get from the parking garage out onto Lake Shore Drive than it did to get from the hot dog stand to the corn-on-the-cob stand two stalls down.  Couldn’t move!  Not to the left, not to the right.  Nowhere.  Thankfully I did not have to pee.

And last year?  Last year was Jackson Hole, Wyoming.  Cowboy country where they do everything big.  Celebrating our freedom is taken very seriously out in dem dere parts and they do it sparing no expense.  You know how most fireworks displays culminate in a big flash of explosions at the very end.  Yeah?  In Jackson Hole they start the show at that level of excitement, but it never lets up.  EVER.  Through the whole show.  You don’t have enough eyes in your head to follow all of the explosions that are going on overhead during the course of the show.  That said, you can only imagine the intensity of the climax that show presents for its conclusion.  Simply indescribable.

So this year brought about a great deal of anxiety and concern over where to see fireworks here at home since we had no big trip planned for the holiday.  Yes, there was pleading and begging to hop a flight for Jackson Hole as late as July 1st but cooler heads and indebted checkbooks won the day and we stayed put to celebrate here at home.  And now that the 4th has come and gone and I’ve seen the offering of our local not-for-profit organization that put on this years display, I can say with confidence that I look forward to seeing the fireworks display over Mount Rushmore next year.  God Bless that wonderful balance of strontium, lithium salts, copper chloride compounds and gun powder, and God Bless the United States of America.

About scotthaz

I love the creative process of Architecture (and tolerate the administrative end of the process), golf as often as my family will allow, and enjoy nature photography.
This entry was posted in That's Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

