Sweet Revenge…Kinda

Despite the devastating results I opined about in my last post I have to relay the moral victory I experienced yesterday. Although the little varmint that discovered my grape cache last week wiped out my crop she did leave behind a grape or two that was just too green for her (I will classify said varmint as a she because all evil things in the world originate through the female gender) liking. So, while water the vines last night I noticed that the one grape left behind had ripened to a beautiful, lush purple. Just as a concord grape should. With great anticipation I dropped the watering can and plucked this lone grape from its otherwise naked cluster. After a careful inspection to insure it was reasonably clean I threw caution to the wind and plopped that sucker into my mouth.

My Prized Concord Grapes…Pre-Devistation

And boy-o-boy was I rewarded! What texture! What flavor! Sweet, luscious goodness filled my mouth. From molar to canine, tonsil to tongue there was happiness dancing around in my gums. This is what I’ve been waiting for since discovering the first cluster this spring!
From mouth to mind, memories came flooding back of days of yore. Times spent in Nana’s garden enjoying these same Concord grapes.

Yes, yes I know that I had posted devious intentions of leaving that last little grape as bait to lure the beast that wiped out the rest of the crop.  And yes, that venom still boils deep within me.  How I still hope to get even…somehow…but the pleasure achieved through the taste of that one solitary grape will be enough to carry me through the next 365 days I will have to wait to harvest next years offerings.  In the meantime I will be purchasing nets, nooses, and boobie traps in an effort to secure a better return on next season’s investment.

Posted from WordPress for Android

About scotthaz

I love the creative process of Architecture (and tolerate the administrative end of the process), golf as often as my family will allow, and enjoy nature photography.
This entry was posted in How Does Your Garden Grow?, That's Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweet Revenge…Kinda

  1. Uma says:

    Those grapes does look delicious! too bad the varmint got most of if : (

Leave a Reply

